Stan Store vs Gumroad vs shopspace: An Honest Fee Comparison

Stan Store vs Gumroad: Gumroad takes 10% + $0.50 per sale, Stan is $29 a month at 0%. See what you keep at $500 and $2,000 a month, shopspace included.

Stan Store vs Gumroad vs shopspace: An Honest Fee Comparison

Once you sell more than about $240 a month, Stan Store keeps more of your money than Gumroad. Gumroad has no monthly fee but takes 10% plus $0.50 on every sale through your own links. Stan Store charges $29 a month, or $25 billed yearly, and takes 0% per sale. Below that line, Gumroad is cheaper.

The third option in this comparison, shopspace, also takes 0% per sale, for $19 a month billed yearly or $29 month to month, and it includes email campaigns on that plan.

Prices below are as of September 2026, from Gumroad's pricing page and Stan's own pricing breakdown.

Stan Store vs Gumroad vs shopspace at a glance

Stan Store Gumroad shopspace
Monthly price Creator $29 ($25 billed yearly), Creator Pro $99 ($79 billed yearly) None Creator $29 ($19 billed yearly), Pro $49 ($39 billed yearly)
Platform fee per sale 0% 10% + $0.50 on direct sales, 30% on Discover marketplace sales 0%
Plan with no monthly cost No Yes, you pay per sale instead No
Free trial 14 days Not needed 7 days
Marketplace that sends you buyers Not stated Yes, Gumroad Discover No
Handles sales tax and VAT for you Not stated Yes, as merchant of record No
Email to your buyers Creator Pro only Not stated Included on Creator

Two corrections to things you may have read elsewhere, including an earlier version of this page. Stan Store has no free plan; its help center says so directly. And Stan does publish its fee: 0% per sale on both plans.

What each platform takes at $500 and $2,000 a month

Take a seller with a $25 product: 20 sales makes $500 a month, 80 sales makes $2,000. Card processing (Stripe or PayPal) applies on every platform, so it is left out to keep the comparison fair.

Plan Price a month At $500 a month At $2,000 a month
Gumroad, direct sales $0 $60, you keep $440 $240, you keep $1,760
Stan Store Creator $29 ($25 billed yearly) $29, you keep $471 $29, you keep $1,971
Stan Store Creator Pro $99 ($79 billed yearly) $99, you keep $401 $99, you keep $1,901
shopspace Creator $29 ($19 billed yearly) $29, you keep $471 $29, you keep $1,971

The Gumroad math: at $2,000, 10% is $200, plus $0.50 on each of 80 sales is $40, so $240. The flat $0.50 hurts most on cheap products. On a $10 item it adds 5 points, so Gumroad takes 15% of the price.

Two Gumroad details can change your numbers. Sales that come through Discover, Gumroad's marketplace, cost a flat 30%, and that 30% includes card processing. And after $20,000 in paid sales in one calendar month, further direct sales that month drop to 5% plus $0.50.

On $2,000 a month of $25 products, Gumroad keeps $240, while Stan and shopspace take a flat $29. Try shopspace free for 7 days and keep the difference: 0% per sale, $19 a month billed yearly.

Where Gumroad wins

Nothing to pay until you sell. For testing an idea or selling a few copies a month, no subscription beats any subscription. Below about $240 a month in sales (on a $25 product), Gumroad costs less than either flat plan.

Buyers who never heard of you. Discover can put your product in front of people browsing Gumroad. You pay 30% on those sales, but it is traffic you did not have to find. shopspace has no marketplace, so every buyer there comes from your own audience.

Tax handled for you. Gumroad is the merchant of record, so it collects and pays sales tax and VAT on your sales. If you sell to buyers in many countries, that is real work you skip. shopspace does not do this.

For the full breakdown at different price points, see what Gumroad actually takes per sale.

Where Stan Store wins

A fixed cost from day one. Stan takes 0% on both plans, so your platform bill is $29 whether you sell $500 or $5,000.

A longer trial. Stan gives you 14 days free, twice the length of shopspace's 7.

Sales tools on Creator Pro. Discount codes, payment plans, Afterpay and Klarna, upsells and order bumps, funnels, affiliate management and advanced pixels are all on the $99 plan. The Creator plan covers digital products, courses and webinars, coaching bookings, memberships, communities and lead magnets.

Where Stan falls short: email broadcasts and email flows are Creator Pro only, so emailing your buyers means paying $99 a month ($79 billed yearly). And Stan does not support a custom domain on any plan; your store stays at stan.store/yourname.

Where shopspace fits

Against Gumroad, it is the fee math. At $2,000 a month in sales, Gumroad takes about $240 and the shopspace Creator plan is $19 billed yearly. That is $221 a month more in your pocket, or $2,652 a year. Money goes straight to your own Stripe account, and shopspace takes no cut of any sale.

Against Stan, there is no fee advantage, and it would be dishonest to claim one. Both take 0%. Month to month, both are $29. Billed yearly, shopspace is $19 against Stan's $25, which is $72 a year less. The real difference is what comes on the $29 plan:

What it does not do: there is no plan that costs nothing after the 7-day trial, no marketplace, and no sales tax or VAT handling. Your own domain is on the Pro plan ($39 a month billed yearly, $49 month to month). And there is no affiliate management for people promoting your products, which Stan Creator Pro has.

FAQ

Does Stan Store have a free plan? No. Stan offers a 14-day free trial of either paid plan, then Creator is $29 a month or $25 billed yearly.

Does Stan Store take a percentage of sales? No. Stan takes 0% on both plans. You only pay card processing through Stripe or PayPal.

Is Gumroad cheaper than Stan Store? Only at low volume. With a $25 product, Gumroad costs less until about $240 a month in sales. Above that, Stan's flat $29 is cheaper, and the gap grows with every sale.

Does shopspace take a cut of sales? No. It takes 0% on every plan. The only per-sale cost is card processing charged by your own Stripe account.

Stan Store, Gumroad or shopspace: which should you choose?

If you are testing an idea, want marketplace traffic, or want someone else to handle sales tax and VAT, start on Gumroad and accept the 10% plus $0.50.

If you want Stan Creator Pro's sales tools, like affiliate management or Afterpay and Klarna, and $99 a month is fine, choose Stan.

If you sell to your own audience every month and want to keep every sale and email your buyers without a $99 plan, shopspace is the better fit. For a wider field, the Beacons vs Stan Store comparison runs the same math. Start a 7-day free trial of shopspace and set up your store first: a card is required at signup, nothing is charged for 7 days, and if you cancel inside the trial you pay nothing.