Stan Store vs Payhip vs shopspace: Honest Comparison

Stan Store vs Payhip: Stan is $29 a month at 0% per sale, Payhip Free takes 5%. Break-even is about $580 a month. See the math and where shopspace fits.

Stan Store vs Payhip vs shopspace: Honest Comparison

Payhip is cheaper until you sell about $580 a month; above that, Stan Store keeps more. Payhip's Free plan costs nothing but takes 5% of each sale, and its paid plans cut that to 2% for $29 a month or 0% for $99. Stan Store charges $29 a month ($25 billed yearly) and takes 0% per sale.

The third option in this comparison, shopspace, also takes 0% per sale, for $19 a month billed yearly or $29 month to month.

Prices below are as of September 2026, from Payhip's pricing page and Stan's own pricing breakdown.

Stan Store vs Payhip vs shopspace at a glance

Stan Store Payhip shopspace
Plans Creator $29 ($25 billed yearly), Creator Pro $99 ($79 billed yearly) Free $0, Plus $29, Pro $99 Creator $29 ($19 billed yearly), Pro $49 ($39 billed yearly)
Platform fee per sale 0% 5% on Free, 2% on Plus, 0% on Pro 0%
Plan with no monthly cost No Yes No
Trial 14 days Not needed, signup takes no card 7 days, card required
EU and UK VAT handled for you Not stated Yes No
Your own domain Not supported on any plan Every plan Pro only
Email marketing Creator Pro only Every plan Included on Creator
Physical products Not stated Yes Yes

Payhip is unusual in one way: every plan gets every feature. You pay for a lower fee, not for extra tools. Stan works the other way round: 0% on both plans, with email, discounts and upsells held back for Creator Pro.

Payhip fees vs Stan Store's flat price: the math

Here is what each plan costs the same seller. Card processing (Stripe or PayPal) applies on every platform, so it is left out to keep the comparison fair.

Plan Price a month Fee per sale At $500 a month At $2,000 a month
Payhip Free $0 5% $25, you keep $475 $100, you keep $1,900
Payhip Plus $29 2% $39, you keep $461 $69, you keep $1,931
Payhip Pro $99 0% $99, you keep $401 $99, you keep $1,901
Stan Store Creator $29 ($25 billed yearly) 0% $29, you keep $471 $29, you keep $1,971
shopspace Creator $29 ($19 billed yearly) 0% $29, you keep $471 $29, you keep $1,971

The costs use month to month prices. Billed yearly, Stan Creator is $25 a month and shopspace Creator is $19.

What the table says:

At $2,000 a month, Payhip Free takes $100 of your sales and Plus still takes $69. Start a 7-day free trial of shopspace and keep it: 0% per sale, $19 a month billed yearly.

Close-up of two hands holding a phone, screen showing a simple checkout page with a price and a buy button, neutral background, clean editorial style

Where Payhip wins

You can start with no monthly bill and no card. For a first product, 5% of a few sales is a small price, and nothing leaves your account if nothing sells.

EU and UK VAT is done for you. Payhip collects and pays EU and UK VAT on your sales automatically. If you sell digital products to European buyers, that is real accounting work you skip. shopspace does not offer it, and Stan's pricing does not mention it.

Every feature on every plan. Your own domain, email marketing, courses, coaching, memberships and physical products are all on the Free plan. Payouts arrive immediately after each sale.

It is cheaper than Gumroad. Payhip's 5% is about half of Gumroad's 10% plus $0.50 per direct sale; the Gumroad fee breakdown has the full math. For more detail on Payhip's own tiers, see the Payhip pricing breakdown.

Where Stan Store wins

A fixed cost that beats every Payhip plan past about $580 a month. Stan's $29 at 0% is always cheaper than Payhip Plus, and always cheaper than Payhip Pro.

A 14-day free trial, and a Creator plan that covers digital products, courses and webinars, coaching bookings, memberships, communities and lead magnets.

Sales tools on Creator Pro: discount codes, payment plans, Afterpay and Klarna, upsells and order bumps, funnels, affiliate management and advanced pixels.

Where Stan falls short: no plan without a monthly fee, email broadcasts and flows only on Creator Pro at $99 a month ($79 billed yearly), and no custom domain on any plan. Your store stays at stan.store/yourname.

If you would rather not pay a percentage, or $99 for email

Here is shopspace on the same math. Creator is $19 a month billed yearly ($228 a year) or $29 month to month, with 0% taken from every sale. Money goes straight to your own Stripe account; shopspace never holds it.

Against Payhip, the fee is the story. On yearly billing, shopspace costs less than Payhip Free once you sell about $380 a month (5% of $380 is $19). It costs less than Payhip Plus and Pro as soon as you make a sale.

Against Stan, it is not a fee story, because both take 0%. Month to month, both are $29; billed yearly, shopspace is $19 against $25, or $72 a year less. The difference is what the base plan includes: email campaigns and sequences (Creator Pro on Stan), Instagram automations that send a DM when someone comments, community, memberships, bookings, automations on store events, and eleven product types including physical products, courses with progress tracking and webinars.

Be clear on what it lacks. It does not handle EU or UK VAT, so if most of your buyers are in Europe, Payhip has a real edge. Your own domain is on the Pro plan ($39 a month billed yearly, $49 month to month), while Payhip includes one on every plan. There is no plan that costs nothing after the 7-day trial, no marketplace, and no affiliate management for people promoting your products.

Stan Store or Payhip: which should you pick?

Start a 7-day free trial of shopspace and set up your store before you pay anything: a card is required at signup, nothing is charged for 7 days, and if you cancel inside the trial you pay nothing.